• Selena | Beauty's Library

We Will Be Watching Review

What I got from We Will Be Watching was in a way, what I was expecting to get in One By One.


Rating: 5/5

When Lana and her three colleagues sign up for the “dark, complex and immersive” escape room game, The Masked Ball, they are expecting a fun day out of the office, full of team-building and camaraderie. But someone has other ideas, and as the group struggles to complete the room, it becomes apparent that there is a very twisted mind behind the puzzles and clues.


Can you solve the mystery of The Masked Ball?

This was an amazing and quick read! From start to finish, I loved every minute of it. A while back, I saw that Ruth Ware offered a short story for free as an incentive if you signed up for her newsletter. I was already following her Instagram and I figured why not? I get a free book out of it!


If you’ve been following me for a while, you probably know I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with Ruth Ware. I didn’t love my first read of hers, The Turn of the Key. I gave her another shot and shortly after picked up The Woman in Cabin 10 which captivated me. And then more recently I was so disappointed in One By One. However, these mixed feelings on her work has not deterred me from never wanting to pick up another one of her books, in fact, I have a couple more books of hers that I own and still need to read. I’m totally down for reading more from Ware. I’ve just now learned to go into each read not knowing what to expect, and maybe a little wary. This one was no different.


But I loved this one! I went into this not remembering the premise. Which honestly, I highly suggest going in without reading the premise. This one kind of makes up for the disappointment of One By One. What I got from We Will Be Watching was in a way, what I was expecting to get in One By One.


What I got from We Will Be Watching was in a way, what I was expecting to get in One By One.

Now, if you must know a little bit more about the premise, I’ll give you a quick description. If not, go ahead and skip over the following paragraph.


Similar to One By One, we follow a company team trying to build a little bit of some team bonding by going to an escape room. However, this escape is more than just a game, and shortly after starting things get heated. The stress levels rise quickly as personal secrets come to light.


I don't want to say too much otherwise it'll give away everything, but I truly didn’t know what to expect with this one. From how the story started, I was genuinely shocked by the ending I didn't see it coming. This is roughly 50 pages and I found the length to be perfect any longer would have just been too much. I found this to be simply a great read.


From how the story started, I was genuinely shocked by the ending I didn't see it coming.

This actually had put me in the mood to read Escape Room by Megan Goldin. I’ll be curious to see how this compares. Have you read it? Let me know on my Instagram post of this review!


If you’re looking for a quick suspense thriller, definitely pick this one up! And it’s perfect for fans of Ruth Ware! If you’re interested in reading We Will Be Watching by Ruth Ware ~ you can download it here.